Fascination with wickedness obscures what is good, and roving desire perverts the innocent mind.
Wisdom of Solomon 4:12

Saturday, May 26, 2012

The Liturgical Cycles

The Life Cycle

Holy Baptism

Holy Chrismation

o      Holy Matrimony

o      Monastic Tonsure

§       Holy Orders


The Annual Cycle

Movable Feasts Are Based on Pascha:  Pre-Lent, Lent, Palm Sunday, Ascension, Pentecost

Fixed Feasts Are Based On Numerical Dates On The Calendar

The Great 12 Feasts of the Annual Cycle

7 Feasts of Our Lord

o      The Universal Exaltation of the Life Giving Cross- 9/14

o      The Nativity of Our Lord – 12/25

o      The Theophany (epiphany) – 1/6

o      The Entrance of our Lord into Jerusalem - Sunday Before Pascha

o      The ascension of Our Lord – 40 Days after Pascha

o      The Descent of the Holy Spirit (Pentecost) – 50 Days after Pascha

o      The Transfiguration of Our Lord – 8/6

5 Feasts of the Theotokos

o      The Nativity of the Most Holy Theotokos – 9/8

o      The Entrance of the Theotokos Into The Temple – 11/21

o      The Meeting of our Lord in the Temple – 2/2

o      The Annunciation to the Theotokos – 3/25

o      The Dormition of the Theotokos – 8/15

The Daily Cycle

Evening Services: 9th Hour, Vespers, Compline

o      The 9th Hour service actually belongs to previous day, and thus is actually part of the midday services.

o      The Liturgical Day Begins at the 12th hour or 6 pm with Vespers and then continues with services at 3 hour intervals.

o      On Saturdays and on Great Feasts, the “All Night Vigil’ may be served. The vigil is a combination of Vespers and Matins, and last from 2-4 hours at parishes, and upto all night at monasteries.
      Morning Services; Nocturns, Matins, 1st Hour

o      1st hour is usually joined to Matins.

Midday Services: 3rd Hour, 6th Hour, Divine Liturgy (Outside of Time) or Typical Psalms

o      6th Hour is usually joined to 9th Hour

No comments:

Post a Comment